Research Guides: Hawaiian Studies (HWST 107): Articles & Indexes

JOURNALS & SCHOLARLY PUBLICATIONS

The Contemporary Pacific
Comprehensive journal coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia.
more...less...
It features refereed, readable articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, and cultural topics, along with political reviews, book and media reviews, resource reviews, and a dialogue section with interviews and short essays. Coverage: Online 1989-2017
Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Coverage: Online 1967-2019

Bishop Museum Publications This link opens in a new window
Articles and books from the Bishop Museum on topics about Hawaii.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index This link opens in a new window
HPJI is an index to articles about Hawaii and the Pacific, and to magazines and journals published in these areas. (Select "Hawaii Pacific Journal Index" from the Databases & Indexes menu.)

RESEARCH DATABASES

Find articles thru the library!

Honolulu Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Honolulu's local newspapers (past & present).
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present;
Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010;
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival journal and book collections include more than 2,000 journals and 7,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR offers 15 Arts & Sciences collections that span 60 disciplines, and the Life Science Collection comprises more than 160 journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This database presents extensive, objective, and comprehensive coverage of today's hot-button issues—a credible resource that provides current context for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

Finding Magazine, Newspaper & Journal Articles

INDEX to the Honolulu Advertiser & Honolulu Star-Bulletin
Call Number: AI21 .H3 -- Hawai'i Pacific Reference Collection
Scroll down library record to "LINKS" for online access to indexes from 1929 - 1969 (ulukau.org)

Hawaii Newspaper Index This link opens in a new window
This index covers articles from 1989 to current from the Honolulu Advertiser, Star-Bulletin, and Star-Advertiser. Please note that this is an index only -- no full-text. Articles may be available on microfilm. Content maintained by the Hawaii State Public Library System.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index This link opens in a new window
HPJI is an index to articles about Hawaii and the Pacific, and to magazines and journals published in these areas. (Select "Hawaii Pacific Journal Index" from the Databases & Indexes menu.)

Papakilo Hawaiian Newspapers Collection
A digital collection of historic Hawaiian Newspapers, ranging from 1834 to 1980, that is made available through the Office of Hawaiian Affairs and various collaborations and partnerships with the Awaiaulu, Bishop Museum, DL Consulting Ltd. & Ulukau. This database contains 11,934 issues comprising 58,612 pages and 379,918 articles.
Hawaii Digitized Newspapers
This is a selection of Hawaii newspapers available in Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
Hoʻolaupaʻi - Hawaiian Nūpepa Collection
A collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948. The newspaper images can be retrieved by word search, title, or date. Partial newspaper content was written in English.
Honolulu Weekly 1991-2013
This alternative newspaper is now available in digital content from 1991 to 2013 when it cease publication.
Hawaiian Journal of History
"The Hawaiian Journal of History, first published in 1967, is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest."
more...less...
Academic Search Complete database: Full text of this title from 2003 - present.
'Ōiwi: A Native Hawaiian Journal
The first publication dedicated to the mana'o (thoughts) and hana no'eau (artistic works) of Na 'Ōiwi (Kanaka Maoli, Native Hawaiians), a historical landmark in the revival of the rich literary heritage of the indigenous people of the Hawaiian archipelago.
more...less...
Volumes 1-3 are available online at Ulukau.org (title search: Oiwi). The library also has these three volumes in print.
The Journal of Polynesian Society (archives 1892-2020)
A non-profit organization based at the University of Auckland, New Zealand. Founded in 1892, the Society’s aim was the scholarly study of past and present New Zealand Māori and other Pacific Island peoples and cultures. It has pursued this aim primarily through the Journal of the Polynesian Society, a quarterly publication begun at the Society’s inception and enduring to the present.