Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Honolulu Community College Library
Websites of Interest
BYU Hawaii - Archives and Special Collections
Digital collections from all BYU campuses, including Hawaiʻi. Features collections related to Hawaiʻi and Polynesia such as the Polynesian Arts and Crafts Filmstrip Series, the Pacific Studies journal, Mormon Missionary Diaries, and more.
Digital Collections of UH Manoa
Includes Hawaiian, Pacific, and Asian subject content: photographs, maps, correspondence, and more.
A cooperative online work led by the Bishop Museum to share resources from our collections, library, and archives with the general public, especially teachers gathering resources to teach Hawaiian Language, History, and Culture in accordance with Hawai‘i Department of Education Content and Performance Standards.
Hawaiian Legends Index
This index was created by the Hawai/i State Library, and the database and web pages were created and maintained by the UH Mānoa Library. Locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.
Hawaiʻi - Researching Place
This guide will help you to locate resources located within the Honolulu Community College Library, online, and available through other libraries, archives, and/or museums. The aim of this guide is to assist you with researching Hawaiʻi and place.
Punawaiola: A Wellspring of Hawaiian Legal Knowledge and Learning
Search across their e-collections of archived legal documents (land & legal issues). Ka Huli Ao (KHA) Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law.
ScholarSpace - UH Manoa
An open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii at Manoa community. ScholarSpace stores the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH at Manoa academic community and also provides a permanent web location for those accessing these resources.
Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library
Resources available for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and for a broader and deeper understanding of Hawaiʻi.
Resources from Midkiff Learning Center, Kamehameha Schools, about sacred places in Hawaiʻi.
WEB RESOURCES (Office of Hawaiian Affairs)
Native Hawaiian Data Book
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA) Native Hawaiian Data Book is an effort initiated in 1994. The data book was produced as a response to OHA’s fiduciary obligation of compiling “basic demographic data on native Hawaiians and Hawaiians” and identify “the physical, sociological, psychological, and economic needs of native Hawaiians and Hawaiians”...
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA’s) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.
Mo'oaupuni: Resources on Hawaiian Political Landscapes
Moʻoaupuni is the history or succession of our government: from the past, to the present and into the future.
OHA Research & Additional Reports
A collection of reports and surveys intended to help guide strategic direction and policy decisions regarding: economics, education, governance, health, and environment.
Kamakako'i: The Cutting Edge
A cutting edge tool that leverages technology to engage, inform, activate and rally the Hawaiʻi community around voices on the cutting edge of community issues.
Geography - Maps
AVA Konohiki - Land & Map Research
The location maps provided show the various land divisions of the Kingdom of Hawaii. These divisions were organized by Mokupuni (island), Moku (district), Ahupua'a, 'Ili and more.
The Early Mapping of Hawai'i
This Ulukau.com e-text is an overview of the history of mapping of Hawai'i from the time of European discovery in 1778 through the mid-19th century. This is not a definitive work on the subject.
OHA’s Kipuka Database is a geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history. The Map Database Project utilizes ArcGIS to display the data.
Land and Map Research (AVA Konohiki)
Online access to maps showing land divisions organized by Mokupuni (island), Moku (district), Ahupua'a, 'Ili and more. Information and data are still being added.
Old Maps Online
A web portal that allows users to search for historical maps available in digital form online. It indexes over 400.000 maps.
State of Hawaii, Land Survey Division
Provides access to historic maps across all islands including ahupuaa, homestead, fisheries, etc.
UH Manoa MAGIS - Hawai'i
Maps, Aerial Photographs, and GIS (MAGIS): holdings include more than 150,000 print maps and 100,000 aerial photo prints.
A Survey of Moloka‘i - The Maps and Photographs of John F.G. Stokes
John F.G. Stokes was a pioneer in the field of Hawaiian Archaeology. During the first decades of the 20th century, he travelled around the Hawaiian Islands and carried out extensive surveys, documenting cultural features, landscapes, and people with photography and mapping techniques.
Images and more
Hawaiian Children, Hawaii State Archives (PP-31-6-002)
`Ulu`ulu: Moving Image Archive of Hawai'i This link opens in a new window
The Henry Ku`ualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive digitizes videotapes & films about Hawaii that are unique, primary source material not widely available or commercially distributed.
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
2.5 million rights-cleared images for non-commercial and educational use from Britannica.
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: email@example.com Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library