Research Guides: Muslim Journeys: Websites

The Qur'an

The "Mahdiyya" Qur'an
High-resolution digital scan

Pages from an elaborately decorated Qur'an

Pages From An Elaborately Decorated Qur'an. Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 28 Feb. 2013. <http://hccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url=http://quest.eb.com/images/163_2960606>.

The Koran
Online searchable text of the Qur'an
Islam - Sacred Texts Archive
The Internet Sacred Texts Archive is a collection of electronic texts in English, and in the original language, when available

The Hajj

The Hajj--An Islamic Pilgrimage
Presented by Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project

Philosophy

Maps

Mapping the Global Muslim Population
This Pew Forum world map shows the Muslim population for each country, the percentage of its population that is Muslim, and its percentage of the world Muslim population.

Map of the Muslim world, from Britkid

Interactive Maps of the Muslim World
Courtesy of "Global Connections: the Middle East," PBS
Political History Maps from Le Monde Diplomatique
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Online maps plus links to many other map sites. Courtesy of the University of Texas at Austin.

Introduction to Islam

A Brief Illustrated Guide To Understanding Islam
Islam 101
Presented by the Sabr Foundation
Islam: Empire of Faith
Presented by the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)
Introduction to Islam
By M. Cherif Bassiouni
The Religion of Islam
Promotes understanding of Islam through articles, ebooks, and interactive videos.
IslamiCity
The mission of IslamiCity is to share understanding of Islam and Muslims with the world, and promote peace, justice and harmony for all people. Presented by Human Assistance & Development International (HADI).
The World's Muslims: Unity and Diversity
A report by the Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life

Art & Architecture

Star Tile - Islamic Art Collection, Object No. 48.295, Shangri La

Islamic Art Collection
Shangri La Center for Islamic Arts and Cultures
Collections: Arts of the Islamic World
Presented by the Smithsonian Institution's museums of Asian Art
The Art of the Qur’an: Treasures from the Museum of Turkish and Islamic Arts
Hosted by the Freer|Sackler Galleries at the Smithsonian Museums of Asian Art, this exhibition of 50 Qur’ans was the first of its kind in the United States.
The Nasser D. Khalili Collection: Islamic Art (700-2000)
The Nasser D. Khalili Collection of Islamic Art is remarkable in that it combines both these traditions within an overall scheme.
Arts of the Islamic World
Descriptions and online exhibits by the Freer and Sackler Galleries of the Smithsonian Museums of Art.
Selections of Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Calligraphy
Presented by the Library of Congress
Calligraphy in Islamic Art
Essay and examples, courtesy of the Victoria and Albert Museum
Islamic Architecture
By Columbia University. Check out the 360-degree panoramas!
Visit Other Collections of Islamic Art
Links to museum collections, compiled by the Doris Duke Foundation of Islamic Art

News

Organization of the Islamic Conference

"International Meetings and Organizations." In The Islamic World: Past and Present. Ed. John L. Esposito. Oxford Islamic Studies Online. Web. 11 Mar. 2013. <http://www.oxfordislamicstudies.com/article/opr/t243/e158/images/9780195175929.international-meetings-and-organizations.1.jpg>.

The Muslim News
This Muslim newspaper based in the United Kingdom covers domestic and international news.
Euro-Islam
News about Muslims in Europe and North America, plus country profiles for Islam in European nations and the United States

Muslim Americans

Muslim Life in America
From the Office of International Information Programs, U.S. Department of State
IslamicFinder
A database of mosques, Islamic organizations, Islamic centers, and Muslim owned businesses, plus prayer time schedules and information about Islam and its history
Islamic Society of North America (ISNA)
ISNA is the largest national Muslim organization in the U.S., with links to social and cultural, and religious opportunities, and webinars on current topics.
American Muslim Voice Foundation
AMV is dedicated to building community and bridging cultures and religions.
Musim Association of Hawaii

Mosque in Honolulu, Hawaii

Islamic Center of Hawaii
1935 Aleo Place
Honolulu, Hawaii 96822
telephone: (808) 947-6263
email: mah@iio.org

More Information

Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project
A collection of Islamic resources related to the history, law, and society of Muslims
Access Islam: a Window Into Islamic Holidays, Traditions, and Cultures
Although designed for students in grades 4-8, the glossary, videos, and clickable timeline of history are helpful for all ages. From WNET Channel 13.

Bridging Cultures: Muslim Journeys

Muslim Journeys
Information about the books, films, and themes of Muslim Journeys, and ideas for sharing them
LibGuides: Muslim Journeys
How are other libraries using Muslim Journeys? View their LibGuides by entering MUSLIM JOURNEYS in the keyword search box.