Find Articles & Websites - History 152 - World History II - Research Guides at Honolulu Community College

HISTORY REFERENCE CENTER

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.

FIND ARTICLES (Research Databases)

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Research across all subject areas from more than 9,000 full text journals; over 13,800 indexed & abstracted journals. Selected PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a comprehensive archive of approximately 400+ scholarly journals in key fields of the humanities, arts, social sciences and more. (The library’s subscription to JSTOR only includes access to the Arts & Sciences I and V collections.)
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text scholarly journal titles available from the following subject collections: business, management, accounting; earth/planetary sciences; health sciences; physics and astronomy; and agricultural and biological sciences.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Honolulu Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Honolulu's local newspaper. Coverage includes -
Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010
Honolulu Star Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present.
(Newspaper archives prior to the above dates are available in microfilm format within the library.)

More History Databases
Complete list of History databases available through the HonCC Library.

Print Journals and Magazines

American Heritage - Depicts US social, cultural, political, and military life past and present.

American History - This magazine explores the rich texture of the American experience through engaging writing and outstanding photography and artwork.

Current History - Provides a forum for leading scholars and specialists to analyze events and trends in every region of a rapidly changing world.

National Geographic - The official journal of the National Geographic Society. Publishes articles on human society and culture around the world, exotic and endangered animals, modern explorations and adventures.

Pacific Historical Review - For over 70 years, the Pacific Historical Review has accurately and adeptly covered the history of American expansion to the Pacific and beyond, as well as the post-frontier developments of the 20th-century American West. Note: The current print issue of Pacific Historical Review is on display in the library. Back issues are available by request from the Circulation Services Counter.

Honolulu Newspapers from 1929-Present

Directions for How to find Honolulu Newspaper Articles from 1929-Present

The Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin are available through the library in two formats, online and in microfilm.

Full-text articles from the Star-Bulletin are available online from March 18, 1996-present. Full-text articles from the Advertiser are available online from November 30, 2002-present in the Library's Honolulu Newspapers database. Any articles written prior to these dates can only be access through the library's microfilm collection.

To find articles in the microfilm there are two indices. The Hawaii Newspaper Index, an online index, has the index for articles from 1989 to the present. The Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin books are available in the library's Hawaii Pacific Reference Collection and index articles from 1929-1994.

The current newspaper, Honolulu Star-Advertiser, is only available online beginning from 2010 in the Honolulu Newspapers database.

Honolulu Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Honolulu's local newspapers (past & present).
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present;
Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010;
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010.
Hawaii Newspaper Index This link opens in a new window
This index covers articles from 1989 to current from the Honolulu Advertiser, Star-Bulletin, and Star-Advertiser. Please note that this is an index only -- no full-text. Articles may be available on microfilm. Content maintained by the Hawaii State Public Library System.

Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin
Call Number: Hawaii Pacific Ref AI21 .H3
Use the indices, which cover the years 1929-1994, to look up newspaper articles by subject on the microfilm reader.

CURRENT EVENT RESOURCES

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This database presents extensive, objective, and comprehensive coverage of today's hot-button issues—a credible resource that provides current context for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database features continuously updated viewpoints (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

General History Websites

Use scrollbar to view full list of links

20th Century Heroes and Villains
This interactive UK National Archives Learning Curve provides documents and asks students to judge whether the figure in question is 'a hero or a villain?' The figures are: Winston Churchill, John F. Kennedy, Josef Stalin, Harry S. Truman, and Benito Mussolini.
A More Perfect Union
Japanese-Americans and the U.S. Constitution. This site explores a period of U.S. history
Academy of Achievement
"A museum of living history." The Academy of Achievement brings students face-to-face with the extraordinary leaders, the visionaries and the pioneers who have helped shape our world.
Center for Oral History - UH Manoa
The Center for Oral History preserves the recollections of Hawai‘i’s people through oral interviews and disseminates oral history transcripts to researchers, students, and the general community.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
A free online library that provides access to millions of books, photographs, maps, audiovisual materials, and more. Primary sources.
Exploring the French Revolution
This site with more than 600 primary documents is a collaboration of the Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) and American Social History Project (City University of New York), supported by grants from the Florence Gould Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Densho -The Japanese American Legacy Project
"Densho's mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy and promote equal justice for all."
Hawaii Labor History
From the Center for Labor Education & Research at UH West Oahu, this site provides historical labor information, a timeline, biographies, and a glossary.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
This site is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures.
Race for the Superbomb (PBS)
Themes include the following: World War II; nuclear arms race; Cold War in domestic and international politics; Korean War; civil defense; science, technology, and society.
Vatican Library Digitized Manuscripts
DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Women in World History
Women in World History reflects three approaches central to current scholarship in world history and the history of women: an emphasis on comparative issues rather than civilizations in isolation; a focus on contacts among different societies; and an attentiveness to “global” forces, such as technology diffusion, migration, or trade routes, that transcend individual societies.
The World War I Document Archive
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
World War II In-depth (BBC)
Covers various topics of the war such as campaigns and battles, politics, home front, and the holocaust. Multimedia zone offers interactive maps, photographs and audio and video clips.

MAGAZINES	JOURNALS
Its purpose is to inform or entertain	Its aim is to report on scholarly research
Articles typically short in length	Longer articles with in-depth analysis
Written by a reporter, journalist, or staff writer	Written by a scholarly expert or specialist (credentials provided)
Articles are reviewed by editorial staff	Articles are peer-reviewed & critically evaluated by scholars
Little or no references are included as support	Sources are always cited in a formal bibliography
Slick & attractive in appearance with advertisements & glossy photos	Very structured format: abstract, methodology, literature review, results, conclusion. No frills.
Examples: People, National Geographic, Reader's Digest	Examples: Young Children, New England Journal of Medicine, Harvard Business Review

History 152 - World History II: Find Articles & Websites