History 152 - World History II: Suggested Websites (Prof. Matsumoto)

Digitized newspapers from 1789-1922. A joint collaboration between the Library of Congress and the Nat'l Endowment for the Humanities.

Most content covers Asia, Hawaiian, and Pacific resources, however there is multi-subject and archival information provided.

Digitized version of Harper's Weekly, the preeminent news and literary journal of the last half of the 19th century.

Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.

Digital Collections. The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with more books, recordings, photographs, and maps than any other library.

Diversity of source material in modern European, American, and Latin American history, as well as a significant amount of material pertinent to world cultures and global studies.

Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Discover what drew the French to North America and follow missionaries, cartographers, soldiers, coureurs des bois and Aboriginal allies as they explore and expand New France.

This virtual exhibition looks at some facets of the history of Canada's Aboriginal peoples, underlining their fight for cultural survival and indicating the wealth of their modern-day contributions.

Resources on the East India Company; includes timeline and historical background.

East India Company, opium, and the expansion of trade.

Background information from the National Archives (UK).

Resources for students and educators in world history, culture, geography, art, and literature. Includes timeline and primary source documents specific to Japan.

Background information on Imperial Japan.

The history and heritage of South Africa.

Click on the RESOURCES link for background and general information on apartheid.

Answers to frequently asked questions regarding American Indian and Alaska Native tribes.

Basic background on some aspects of U.S. policies regarding Native Americans.

Selected documents and reports; courtesy of the Hawaiian Collection at UH Manoa, Hamilton Library.

Background information with primary documents. US National Archives.

Varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history. Office of Hawaiian Affairs.